Message to U.S. Citizens in Canada: Summary of COVID-19 Situation in Canada (April 15, 2020)

Message to U.S. Citizens in Canada: Domestic Travel Restrictions within Canada

April 15, 2020

Location: Canada

Event: COVID-19 Updates and Summary of Domestic Travel Restrictions within Canada


In addition to restrictions on non-essential travel between the United States and Canada, a number of provinces and territories have put in place specific restrictions for travel across their borders, including for domestic travelers.  The information and links below provide information about recent restrictions.  This information is accurate as of April 15, please check the links for information prior to any planned travel.

Canada (nation-wide measures): As of April 15, “travelers returning to Canada during the COVID-19 pandemic must have a credible quarantine plan before they enter the country.” The order strengthens the Quarantine Act and gives authorities expanded abilities to screen travelers’ quarantine plan. If the plan is deemed inadequate, travelers may be denied entry or be required to quarantine in a hotel.

Alberta: No current interprovincial domestic travel restrictions.

British Columbia: No current interprovincial domestic travel restrictions.

Manitoba: No current interprovincial domestic travel restrictions, but the Manitoba government has established highway checkpoints to help inform travelers about the public health measures in place to slow the spread of COVID-19.  Public health officials recommend “anyone who returns from international or domestic travel should self-isolate and self-monitor for symptoms for 14 days following their return.”

New Brunswick: “New Brunswick implemented restrictions for all travelers who are arriving from outside the province. This includes interprovincial/territorial and international travel. At this time exemptions are being made for certain individuals, but this is subject to change.”

Newfoundland and Labrador: “Travelers arriving to Newfoundland and Labrador from outside the province are required to self-isolate for 14 days, including those arriving from other provinces and territories in Canada.”

Nova Scotia: Only visitors providing essential services will be admitted to Nova Scotia. All workers, including temporary foreign workers, admitted into the province must self-isolate for 14 days.

Ontario:  No current interprovincial domestic travel restrictions.

Prince Edward Island: Anyone coming into Prince Edward Island must self-isolate for 14 days following all out of province travel, including within Canada and the United States.”

Quebec: ”Service de police de la Ville de Gatineau (SPVG) officers are being deployed to strategic entry points to restrict travel to only essential purposes.”

Saskatchewan: No current interprovincial domestic travel restrictions.

Northwest Territories:  Travelers must “self-isolate and complete the approved self-isolation plan” for 14 days after arriving in the NWT.

Nunavut: “Only Nunavut residents and critical workers will be allowed into the territory. Residents will have to provide proof of residency to be allowed to fly into Nunavut.  Prior to boarding a plane into the territory, residents will undergo a mandatory 14-day isolation period in either Ottawa, Winnipeg, Edmonton or Yellowknife.”

Yukon:  “All visitors to the territory are required to self-isolate for 14 days. This includes anyone returning home from other provinces and territories by road or air, as well as Yukoners returning home by road from Alaska.”

Actions to Take:

Keep STEP Enrollment Active

  • Encourage U.S. citizen friends and family to enroll in the Department of State’s Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) so the U.S. Embassy and Consulates can contact them with updated information. If you plan to remain in Canada beyond your previously planned travel dates, remember to modify your STEP profile in order to continue to receive information and emergency alerts.

Monitor the following U.S. Government websites

Monitor the following Canadian Government websites

Monitor the following additional suggested websites 

  • Airlines, buses, trains, cruise lines, or travel operators regarding any updated information about your travel plans and/or restrictions.

Follow us on 

For Assistance: The U.S. Embassy and Consulates General are continually monitoring the current situation in Canada and continue to provide emergency services to U.S. citizens.  

U.S. Embassy Ottawa
490 Sussex Drive
Ottawa,  Ontario, K1N 1G8
Telephone: +1 (613) 688-5335
Emergency After-Hours Telephone: +1 (613) 238-5335
Fax: +1 (613) 688-3082


U.S. Consulate General Montreal
1134, Rue Ste-Catherine West
Montreal, QC H3B 1H4
Telephone: +1 (514) 398-9695
Emergency After-Hours Telephone: +1 (416) 645-9124
Fax: +1 (514) 398-9748

U.S. Consulate General Toronto
360 University Ave
Toronto, Ontario M5G 1S4
Telephone: +1 (416) 595-1700
Emergency After-Hours Telephone: +1 (416) 595-6506
Fax: +1 (416) 595-5466

U.S. Consulate General Vancouver
1075 West Pender Street
Vancouver, British Columbia
V6E 2M6
Telephone: +1 (604) 685-4311
Emergency After-Hours Telephone: +1 (604) 685-4311
Fax: +1 (604) 685-7175

U.S. Consulate General Halifax
Purdy’s Wharf Tower II
1969 Upper Water Street, Suite 904
Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3R7
Telephone: +1 (902) 429-2480
Emergency After-Hours Telephone: +1 (902) 429-2480, Press 1
Fax: +1 (902) 423-6861

U.S. Consulate General Quebec
2, rue de la Terrasse Dufferin
(Vieux Quebec, behind Chateau Frontenac)
Quebec, Quebec G1R 4T9
Telephone: +1 (418) 692-2095
Emergency After-Hours Telephone: +1 (418) 692-2096
Fax: +1 (418) 692-4640

U.S. Consulate General Calgary
615 Macleod Trail S.E.,
10th Floor
Calgary, Alberta, T2G 4T8
Telephone: +1 (403) 266-8962
Fax: +1 (403) 264-6630