CLP Grant Recipients Announced

The United States Embassy in Canada and Fulbright Canada are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2013-14 Community Leadership Program (CLP) grants. The CLP supports Canadian alumni of U.S. government exchange programs who would like to make a contribution in their community. The CLP provides up to $8,000 on a competitive basis to groups of three or more alumni who identify a need in their community and a strategy for addressing that need.

The recipients of this year’s CLP grants are:

  • Marcia Ostashewski (Canadian Fulbright Visiting Chair, 2010-2011), with Jill Palzkill Woelfer (Fulbright Student, 2011-2012) and Cheryl Krasnick Warsh (Fulbright Scholar, 1992-1993), whose project on the role of music in the lives of homeless youth will be carried out in Vancouver and Sydney N.S.;
  • Ian McGrath (Canadian Fulbright Student, 2010-2011), with Robin McLay (Fulbright Student, 1998-1999) and Scott Delaney (Fulbright Student, 2011-2012), whose project on disadvantaged youths and hockey will be carried out in Ottawa;
  • James McNiven (Fulbright Visiting Research Chair, 2010-2011), with Quanda Johnson (Fulbright Student, 2013-2014) and Cambria Findley-Grubb (Fulbright Student, 2013-2014), whose project on the untold history of the Underground Railroad as it relates to Atlantic Canada will be carried out in Halifax; and
  • Magdalena Muir (Fulbright Scholar, 2013-2014), whose project on the Arctic Council will be carried out in Yellowknife and Iqualuit.

Complete information on each project can be found at